Empowering Sales

PreTail and ReTail: How does the consumer make his buying decisions and what strategic leverage points can be identified here? When and how do first preferences develop? How does the consumer react in the buying decision process and what does he react to? What ultimately drives preference?
But we also have to look back: what creates satisfaction and loyalty and thus triggers high brand preference and a repeat purchase intention?

Consumer Decision Journey

More transparency in the purchase process – Pre-Tail & Re-Tail

POS surveys show: even for complex and high-end products, consumers manage to make their decision in a short space of time. But how is this decision reached? The consumer cannot normally give an adequate answer to this question. The decision process can only be partially reflected, the drivers of behaviour are often not even conscious, the predispositions guiding preference were often formed well in advance – the zero moment of truth.

Therefore, shopper insights begin before the POS. At the POS – whether offline or online – behavioural observations, interviews and eye-tracking bring transparency. The buying decision is split into a large number of individual dimensions and touchpoints which might influence the decision process.

The influence of the individual dimensions is analysed with the help of bivariate and multivariate methods.

How relevant are the individual dimensions (e.g. product, brand, packaging, stickers, etc.) for the buying decision?

What characterises each dimension in detail?

How successfully do the individual brands and products work in this respect?

A mix of methods – qualitative accompanied shopping and statistical tools to identify the drivers in the purchase situation – combines dependable numbers with qualitative depth, helps to identify and understand the relevant touchpoints and their mechanics and hence to develop targeted shopper marketing.

Loyality Check

Build on profitable customer relationships

Having loyal customers pays off: sales stability, revenue growth and recommendation.

But which services, product features and activities are particularly important for strengthening the customer relationship? And how does my company perform compared to relevant competitors?

With multidimensional scaling, cluster analysis and correspondence analysis, the Loyalty Check brings together corporate image, services, touchpoints, customer groups and needs to reveal what strengthens satisfaction and recommendation.

Measurement of the corporate image and identification of key image dimensions

Measurement of individual satisfiers as well as the strengths and weaknesses of individual touchpoints, also among relevant stakeholders

Identification of the touchpoints and services that are particularly relevant for overall satisfaction and customer loyalty

Analysis of the connection between relevant image dimensions and individual touchpoints to create an appropriate long-term positioning for the customer

Differentiation of the results by consumer group and deduction of specific strategies for action

Benchmarking with relevant competitors

Sales Lab

Designing sales stories and sales culture

Particularly for products requiring explanation like high-end consumables or pharmaceutical products, the development of sales materials and sales presentations is often difficult. The consequence is that marketing has to be individually fine-tuned later – after first experiences with the materials. Things become blurred: dilution of product messages, losing sight of corporate goals.

This is where the Sales Lab comes in as a combined process for the development and check of marketing and sales material. Qualitative research units alternate with creative sessions: observe the sales discussion. Interview the persons involved. Rework the material.

Systematic process – stringent, efficient and effective

Joint development by sales and marketing people

Trial of material in a realistic setting

Learn from a concrete product discussion

Develop and optimise material in feedback loops

Empowering Sales

PreTail und ReTail: Wie trifft der Konsument seine Kaufentscheidungen und welche strategischen Hebelpunkte bieten sich hier? Wann und wie entstehen erste Präferenzen? Wie und auf was reagiert die Kosument im Kaufentscheidungprozess und was ist letztlich präferenzsteuernd?
Der Blick richtet sich aber auch zurück: Was schafft Zufriedenheit und Loyalität und triggert damit eine hohe Markenpräferenz und Wiederkaufbereitschaft?

Consumer Decision Journey

Mehr Transparenz im Kaufprozess – Pre-tail & Re-tail

POS Studien zeigen: Selbst bei komplexen und hochwertigen Produkten gelingt es dem Konsumenten, in kürzester Zeit seine Entscheidung zu treffen. Aber wie kommt diese Entscheidung nun zustande? Der Konsument kann diese Frage zumeist nur unzureichend beantworten: Der Entscheidungsprozess kann nur bedingt reflektiert werden, die verhaltensdeterminierenden Treiber sind oft gar nicht bewusst, die präferenzsteuernden Prädispositionen werden oft schon weit im Vorfeld gebildet – the Zero Moment of Truth.

Entsprechend beginnen Shopper Insights schon vor dem POS. Am POS selbst – sei es nun offline oder online – schaffen Verhaltensbeobachtungen, Interviews und Blickverlaufsmessungen Transparenz. Dazu wird die Kaufentscheidung  in eine Vielzahl einzelner Dimensionen und Touchpoints zerlegt, die den Entscheidungsprozess potenziell beeinflussen können.

Mit Hilfe bi- und multivariater Verfahren wird darauf aufbauend der Einfluss der einzelnen Dimensionen analysiert

Wie relevant sind die einzelnen Dimensionen (wie z. B. Produkt, Marke, Packung, Sticker etc.) für die Kaufentscheidung?

Wodurch wird jede einzelne Dimension im Detail bestimmt?

Wie erfolgreich arbeiten hier die einzelnen Marken und Produkte?

Ein Methoden-Mix aus qualitativen accompanied shoppings und statistischen Tools zur Identifikation der Treiber in der Kaufsituation verbindet dabei verlässliche Zahlen mit qualitativer Tiefenschärfe, hilft die relevanten Touchpoints und deren Mechanik zu erkennen und zu verstehen und damit ein zielgerichtetes Shopper-Marketing zu entwickeln.

Loyality Check

Kundenbeziehungen nutzbringend ausbauen

Treue Kunden zahlen sich aus: Umsatzstabilität, -ausbau und Weiterempfehlung.

Aber welche Leistungsbereiche, Produkteigenschaften und Maßnahmen sind nun besonders wichtig für die Stärkung der Kundenbeziehung? Und wie schneidet mein Unternehmen im Vergleich zu relevanten Wettbewerbern hier ab?

Mit Multidimensionalen Skalierungen, Clusteranalysen, Korrespondenzanalysen führt der Loyalty Check Unternehmensimage, Leistungsbereiche, Touchpoints, Kundengruppen und Bedürfnisse zusammen und zeigt auf, was Zufriedenheit und Weitempfehlung stärkt.

Messung des Unternehmensimages und Identifikation zentraler Dimensionen des Images

Messung der jeweiligen Einzelzufriedenheiten sowie Stärken und Schwächen in einzelnen Touchpoints sowie bei relevanten Stakeholdern

Identifikation der für Gesamtzufriedenheit und Kundenbindung besonders relevanten Touchpoints und Teilleistungen

Analyse des Zusammenhangs zwischen relevanten Imagedimensionen und einzelnen Touchpoints mit dem Ziel einer langfristigen kundenadäquaten Positionierung

Differenzierung der Ergebnisse nach Kundengruppen und Ableitung spezifischer Handlungsstrategien

Benchmarking mit relevanten Wettbewerbern

Sales Lab

Designing sales stories and sales culture

Gerade bei erklärungsbedürftigen Produkten wie hochwertigen Gebrauchsgütern oder pharmazeutischen Produkten ist die Entwicklung von Vertriebsmaterial und Vertriebspräsentationen oftmals schwierig. Folge ist, dass der Vertrieb später – nach den ersten Erfahrungen mit dem Material – individuell nachjustiert. Dabei entstehen Unschärfen: Produktbotschaften werden verwässert, Unternehmensziele geraten aus dem Blick.

Hier greift das Sales Lab als kombinierter Prozess zur Entwicklung und Überprüfung von Marketing- und Vertriebsmaterial. Qualitative Forschungseinheiten wechseln sich mit Kreativ-Sessions ab: Beobachten des Vertriebsgespräches. Interviewen der Gesprächspartner. Überarbeiten des Materials.

Systematischer Prozess – stringent, effizient und effektiv

Vertrieb und Marketing entwickeln gemeinsam

Material in einem realitätsnahen Setting erproben

An einer konkreten Produktbesprechung lernen

Material in Lernschleifen entwickeln und optimieren